HPF reflects on success

HPF farewelled three outgoing board members and announced its new members at the Annual General Meeting in Auckland yesterday. (Thurs, Nov 14)

Leaving are board chair Zoe Hawke (Mental Health Foundation), Dr Richard Egan (Otago University) and Lisa Pohatu.

The new members are Paula Snowden (CEO, Gambling Foundation), Te Aroha Hunt and a Dr Kate Morgaine (Health Promotion Unit, Otago University. (By co-option, subject to her acceptance.)

Mrs Hawke said at the AGM that she had enjoyed her six years, two as Chair of the Board, and that it had been a busy and rewarding year for HPF.

She cited the 23rd International Union for Health Promotion and Education (IUHPE) World Health Promotion Conference, co-hosted by HPF in Rotorua, last April as an example and said the conference had many significant outcomes.

“These achievements have been acknowledged by stakeholders from around the world and within the country regarding HPF as a world leader in health promotion. Important knowledge was shared, legacy statements and other post-conference initiatives were endorsed and the profile of HPF was elevated showcasing true commitment to Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

“Being evaluated and approved again as an accredited quality organisation by Te Wana, and the award of Public Health Champion to HPF Executive Director Sione Tu’itahi by PHA are other examples of the recognition of the good work HPF has done this year,” she said.

Mr Tu’itahi confirmed it had been another successful year for the organisation at both national and international levels and that HPF is highly regarded as a leader in health promotion.

“Looking into the future, among other initiatives we plan to complete the accreditation framework for health promotion, thus making health promotion a more formal and recognised profession, under the global framework of the IUHPE.”

Banner pic from left: Vishal Rishi, (Board); Richard Wallace, (Kaumatua); Sharon Grant-Muru (board); Mark Simiona (Board); Leanne Eruera, Sunila Mani and Sione Tu’tahi (staff), Lisa Pouhatu (Outgoing, board), Lavinia Ngatoko and Emma Frost (staff). Not present are: Fay Selby, Selah Hart (board) and Dr Viliami Puloka, Trevor Simpson (staff).